Administration in Kargil

Kargil is one of the toughest regions in Ladakh for residential, political, and administrative purposes. It was made a separate district in the year 1979. It is the most scarcely populated district in entire Jammu and Kashmir. But despite this fact, administrative control of this district is not that easy. With its rough terrains, extreme weather conditions, and lack of basic amenities, administration is quite challenging in Kargil. It also comes under Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, massive changes have been introduced in its administrative setup.

Administrative Setup of Kargil

Administrative Setup of Kargil

For simplifying this purpose, the district is divided into 9 blocks that include Kargil, Drass, Sankoo, Zanskar, Lungnuk, Shargole, Taisaroo, Shakar Chiktan, and Gund Mangalpur- Trespone. There are three tehsils in Sankoo, Kargil, and Zanskar. Two sub divisions of Drass and Zanskar are headed by their Sub Divisional Magistrate.

In this district, there is one municipal committee in the city of Kargil. It has 16 wards to be managed administratively. The district has total 129 villages. Out of these, 2 are completely inhabited now. 95 village panchayats are working at grass root levels.

In 2003, LAHDC or Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council was formed that distinguishes its administrative structure from many other districts of the state. As per Hill Council, Kargil was segregated into 26 constituencies. Along with these, 4 nominated councilors were introduced in the year 2004 as per government notification. In total, there are 30 councilors in this Hill Council constituted of 26 elected and 4 nominated members.

Administration of Kargil

The Chief Executive Councilor of LAHDC is accorded with position of a Cabinet Minister. In Kargil, this Chief Executive Councilor is entrusted with passing of plans and proposals as well as budget of this constituency. To assist him, there are 4 Executive Councilors working in capacity of Deputy Ministers. For administrative of Kargil as a Hill Council, its Deputy Commissioner is the head and Chief Executive Officer of Kargil. He is also responsible for handling the law and order in district along with his other powers and duties.

Blocks under Administration of Kargil

Kargil has 9 blocks that are further divided into panchayats. These blocks are the main responsibility for administrative head and Hill Council of district. Here is given a brief overview of each block to closely understand its administrative requirements and set up.


Along with being district headquarter, Kargil is also the largest block in this district. The area is rich in cultivation of apricots. The city has population of 20, 000 that increases during summers with resumption of Srinagar Kargil route. To accommodate this growing populace, several new residential areas have been developed here by local administration. Major population of this region includes Brogpa, Balti, and Purki cultures.


This populated block of Kargil has confluence of Suru River, Nakpo chhoo, and Barso Nallah. The area has strong historical significance. Many structures stand tall here as reminiscences of its past. It is a vast and properly spread out area.


Drass has immense elevation causing chilling cols throughout the year. It is situated amid the peaks of Tiger Hill and Tololing. Despite its extremely cold weather, Drass has excelled in the field of education with administrative support. With government intervention and initiatives, this cold desert region is now undergoing massive plantation drive with a view to bring about certain topographical changes.

Block wise division for Administration of Kargil

Padum and Lungnak

This block shares its border with Himachal Pradesh. The area is well spread out with no motorable road being constructed so far. There are many revered gompas in this region with Buddhist influence. It is a heaven for adventurists with trekking routes and frozen Zanskar river in the winters.

Tai Suru

This block was created out of Sankoo block. Some prominent villages are located within it. It is also a perfect destination for adventurous activities like mountaineering and trekking.


This newest block of Kargil district is known for its religious importance. It is a prominent center for Buddhism in this region. There are many monasteries, gompas, and Buddhist villages under this block.

Shakar Chiktan

This is a region full of cultural diversity. The place is still known for its folk lores, majestic castle, and polo fields. It has many traditional epic tellers still present in this region to carry forward its cultural heritage.
These are the blocks of Kargil district with their unique characteristics, demographics, culture, and topography.

Important Contact Numbers in Kargil Administration

SP Kargil: District Police Office
Sh. Shailendra Kumar Mishra, IPS
Phone No.: 01985-232704, 232645 (O)
E-mail: [email protected]

Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Kargil
Asgar Ali Karbalaie
Chief Executive Councilor, LAHDC
Phone No.: 233827, 232500, 233798

Addl. Deputy Commissioner
Hassan Khan, KAS
Phone No.: 233057, 232203

Medical, C.M.O
Dr. Shabbir Hussain Munshi
Phone No.: 233449/232208, 232245
Free Listing